Veikko's Blur Pagewww.vblurpage.com
 Home > Discography > Gorillaz > Song Machine, Season One > Strange Timez

Song Machine
Season One: Strange Timez

See also: episodes


Download/Stream cover
Covers for different versions

Released: 23 October 2020

Highest UK Chart Position:

Chart History | Intl Chart Positions | Sales


CD Cat. No. 0190295209421
Double CD "Deluxe" 0190295192167
Vinyl 0190295209414

Ltd Blue Vinyl
Ltd Orange Vinyl
Ltd Yellow Vinyl
Ltd Double Vinyl "Deluxe" 0190295209407

Ltd Box Set "Super Deluxe"
Cassette "2D"
Cassette "Murdoc"
Cassette "Noodle"
Cassette "Russel"
Signed Vinyl Test Pressing

US Ltd Vinyl "VMP Exclusive"

Asian Countries
Japanese Double CD "Deluxe"

Other Countries & Formats

Download/Stream "Deluxe"

Download available in HD and standard quality.

Record labels:

Parlophone / Warner Music
Japan: Warner Music Japan


The Pink Phantom
Booo! The Pink Phantom from the
Song Machine, Season One web series.


   01. Strange Timez
   02. The Valley Of The Pagans
   03. The Lost Chord
   04. Pac-Man
   05. Chalk Tablet Towers
   06. The Pink Phantom
   07. Aries
   08. Friday 13th
   09. Dead Butterflies
   10. Désolé (Extended Version)
   11. Momentary Bliss
   "Deluxe" edition bonus tracks:

   12. Opium
   13. Simplicity
   14. Severed Head
   15. With Love To An Ex
   16. MLS
   17. How Far?

* Bonus track in the Japanese release is "Taxi Back To 80s Reykjavík".

* "Deluxe" vinyl edition comes in a 20-page hardback book featuring art by Jamie Hewlett. It also includes three 12" art prints and a "Deluxe" CD.

* Priced at £200, "Super Deluxe" box
set is exclusive to the official Gorillaz webstore and includes:

* Eleven 7" singles with instrumental
versions as B-sides (album tracks 1-11).

   * Eleven 12" art prints.

   * Hand crank music box playing "Song
Machine Theme Tune".

   * "Deluxe" vinyl edition (see above for

* Four unique cassettes were on sale exclusively on the Gorillaz webstore. Each cassette had a different tracklist chosen by 2D, Murdoc, Noodle & Russel.

* Special vinyl editions: Blue vinyl was exclusive to Amazon, Orange vinyl to indie record stores, Yellow vinyl to HMV, JB Hi-Fi and various other stores. "VMP Exclusive" edition is limited to 2,500 copies, numbered and made of recycled vinyl. Signed Vinyl Test Pressings could be won via Amazon.co.uk.

* All vinyl editions, except apparently the Signed Vinyl Test Pressing, include a code for album download (320 kbps MP3).

Liner notes

Credits in the album booklet.

  • Strangely, the album's subtitle Strange Timez isn't mentioned anywhere on the release (except on the tracklist, of course :-).
  • Damon Albarn's nine-year-old niece, Etta Albarn Teulon, plays trumpet on "Strange Timez". She also provides additional vocals on "Opium".
  • Damon pronounces "contraband" differently on the album and episode versions of "Désolé" (listen to the comparison: album version, episode version).
  • Leaks: The album was leaked on 20th October 2020. The demo version of "The Valley Of The Pagans" surfaced online on 3rd August.
  • Total running times:
    • Standard version: 43:03
    • Deluxe version: 65:18

Home | News | Band Info | Discography | Gigography | Pictures | Lyrics & Tabs | Articles | Forum | Links

Updates | About | Search | Contact

Copyright © 1998-2021 Veikko Hynninen