Veikko's Blur Pagewww.vblurpage.com
 Home > Discography > Gorillaz > The Now Now

The Now Now

Download/Stream cover
Covers for different versions

Released: 29 June 2018

All release dates

Highest UK Chart Position: 5

Chart History | Intl Chart Positions | Sales


CD Cat. No. 0190295643430
Ltd CD 0190295616298
Ltd Cassette 0190295600150
Vinyl 0190295643423
Ltd Vinyl Box Set 0190295643416

US CD 2-572304
US Vinyl Picture Disc

Asian Countries
Japanese CD WPCR-18062
Japanese CD Promo PCD-1215
Taiwanese CD 9029564343

Other Countries & Formats
Australian CD 9029564343
Canadian CD 0190295643430
Download (HD & standard) / Stream

Record labels:

UK: Parlophone / Warner Music
US: Warner Bros. Records / Warner Music
Japan: Warner Music Japan
Taiwan: Warner Music Taiwan
Australia: Warner Music Australia
Canada: Warner Music Canada


   01. Humility
   02. Tranz
   03. Hollywood
   04. Kansas
   05. Sorcererz
   06. Idaho
   07. Lake Zurich
   08. Magic City
   09. Fire Flies
   10. One Percent
   11. Souk Eye

* Ltd CD, including five postcards, was exclusive to certain stores in Europe (such as HMV, Tower Records, Fnac and many indie record shops).

* Ltd Cassette was only available from the official Gorillaz webstore and Warner Music Store. The cassette was "super limited", according to the stores.

* Ltd Vinyl Box Set comes with a 52-page "2D's journal", four 12" x 12" art prints and six pin badges.

* Vinyl editions include a code for the standard quality download of the album.

* Pre-orders featured an immediate download of the singles:

   * Humility and Lake Zurich (available
 from May 31)
   * Sorcererz (Jun 7)
   * Fire Flies (Jun 14)
   * Hollywood (Jun 21)

Liner notes

Credits inside the album booklet.

  • The Now Now was largely written and demoed on the band's US leg of the Humanz tour. The concept of the album is similar to 2010's The Fall, but this time the songs were recorded properly after the tour in London.
  • The album has been described as "2D's record" - the main theme is the singer's own isolated world from where he observes the rest of the world. For inspiration, Damon wanted to stay on the top floor of each hotel on the tour.
  • As opposed to the guest-heavy Humanz, there are only three featured artists on The Now Now: George Benson, Snoop Dogg and Jamie Principle. Damon also worked with Mike Will Made It and Flume, but their contributions didn't make it onto the record.
  • Fictionally, the bass duties on the album are handled by Ace from The Powerpuff Girls. Murdoc was unable to join the recording sessions because he was locked in jail.
  • During the album's making, Veikko's Blur Page gathered comments from the people who were involved in the project.
  • The album's promotion started with a mysterious poster campaign at London's All Points East festival on 26th May 2018. The posters featured different slogans and the web address TheNowNow.tv which had an eight-second long teaser of "Lake Zurich".
  • "Magic City" is a nickname for Miami. Graham Coxon plays guitar on the track.
  • Leaks: The album's first singles, "Humility" and "Lake Zurich", were leaked on 29th May 2018. "Hollywood" surfaced online on 18th June. The entire album was accidentally released on 22nd June for Amazon customers who had pre-ordered it as MP3.
  • Total running time: 40:49

Home | News | Band Info | Discography | Gigography | Pictures | Lyrics & Tabs | Articles | Forum | Links

Updates | About | Search | Contact

Copyright 1998-2020 Veikko Hynninen