Veikko's Blur Pagewww.vblurpage.com
 Home > Discography > Gorillaz > Humanz


Download/Stream cover
Covers for different versions

Released: 28 April 2017

All release dates

Highest UK Chart Position: 2

Chart History | Intl Chart Positions | Sales


CD Cat. No. 0190295851200
Ltd Double CD "Deluxe" 0190295851170
Double Vinyl 0190295851194
Ltd Double Vinyl "Deluxe" 0190295851187
Ltd 14LP Box Set "Super Deluxe"

US CD 560256-2
US Ltd Double CD "Deluxe" 560257-2
US Ltd RSD Black Friday Double Vinyl

Asian Countries
Japanese Ltd Double CD "Deluxe"
Taiwanese Ltd Double CD "Deluxe"

Other Countries & Formats
Australian CD "Deluxe" 9029585117
Download/Stream "Deluxe"

Download available in HD and standard quality.

Record labels:

UK: Parlophone / Warner Music
US: Warner Bros. Records / Warner Music
Japan: Warner Music Japan
Taiwan: Warner Music Taiwan
Australia: Warner Music Australia

Gorillaz during the Humanz era.
Gorillaz during the Humanz era.


   01. Intro: I Switched My Robot Off
   02. Ascension
   03. Strobelite
   04. Saturnz Barz
   05. Momentz
   06. Interlude: The Non-Conformist  Oath
   07. Submission
   08. Charger
   09. Interlude: Elevator Going Up
   10. Andromeda
   11. Busted And Blue
   12. Interlude: Talk Radio
   13. Carnival
   14. Let Me Out
   15. Interlude: Penthouse
   16. Sex Murder Party
   17. She's My Collar
   18. Interlude: The Elephant
   19. Hallelujah Money
   20. We Got The Power
   "Deluxe" edition bonus tracks
   (CD and download/stream only):

   21. Interlude: New World
   22. The Apprentice
   23. Halfway To The Halfway House
   24. Out Of Body
   25. Ticker Tape
   26. Circle Of Friendz

* Extra tracks in the Japanese version: "Andromeda (D.R.A.M. Special)" and "Busted And Blue (Faia Younan Special)".

* "Deluxe" and "Super Deluxe" vinyl editions come with a 54-page hardback book featuring art by Jamie Hewlett.

* Priced at 275, "Super Deluxe" vinyl box set includes 14 bonus tracks. Early copies sold through the official Gorillaz webstore were signed by Jamie Hewlett and Damon Albarn. The bonus tracks are:

   * Long Beach
   * Colombians
   * Duetz
   * Midnite Float
   * Grilling With His Face
   * Charger (Alternative Version)
   * Andromeda (D.R.A.M. Special)
   * Busted And Blue (Faia Younan Special)
   * Carnival (2D Special)
   * Five Whales In A Dream
   * Garage Palace
   * She's My Collar (Kali Uchis Spanish Special)
   * Phoenix On The Hill
   * Tranzformer

* Standard and "Deluxe" vinyl editions include a download code for the standard version of the album. "Super Deluxe" vinyl edition also contains its bonus tracks as a download.

* Record Store Day's Black Friday vinyl is limited to 4,900 copies.

* Pre-orders featured an immediate download of the singles:

   * Andromeda (available from Mar 23)
   * Ascension (Mar 23)
   * Saturnz Barz (Mar 23)
   * We Got The Power (Mar 23)
   * Let Me Out (Apr 6)
   * The Apprentice (Apr 24)

Liner notes

Credits inside the album booklet.

  • Humanz is Gorillaz' "party record" set in a fictional post-Trump America. When recording the album [in 2015-16, before the presidential elections], the question in the studio was, "How would we feel if Trump had just won the elections? How would we party on that night?".
  • Jamie Hewlett explained the title Humanz in June's issue of Q: "Humanz is not a political statement about Trump - it's about a world in which he could get elected. Where are we as a race? Why haven't we grown out of this? Putting the Z on the end is not a hip-hop statement, it's more like an android Z. Are we human beings or just humanz? What the fuck is wrong with us?".
  • The first official previews for Humanz were released in October 2016 when the 'Books' for each Gorillaz member appeared on the band's social media pages. The 'Books' tell how 2D, Murdoc, Noodle and Russel ended up recording the album in London after their escape from Plastic Beach.
  • During the album's writing process and close to its release, Veikko's Blur Page gathered comments from the people who were involved in the project.
  • The album was premiered on 21-23rd April 2017 at Humanz House Party, the largest ever geo-specific listening event (accessible only via Gorillaz App).
  • Although not credited as featured artists, Noel Gallagher provides backing vocals and Jean-Michel Jarre synthesizers on "We Got The Power". Graham Coxon was also to play guitar on the track, but according to Damon Albarn the collaboration turned out to be "too rocky" for the album. Instead, Graham is playing on "Submission".
  • Guest artists whose contributions didn't end up on Humanz include Liam Bailey, Raury and Vic Mensa. Morrissey, Sade and Dionne Warwick passed up the opportunity to feature on the record.
  • "Andromeda" is dedicated to the memory of Ethel, the late mother of Damon's partner Suzi Winstanley. The song also pays a little tribute to Bobby Womack with a lyric line "It was Bobby gracing".
  • Leaks: The album's track titles were leaked on 17th March 2017 as they were found to be registered in the PPL database. A couple of days later, nearly finished versions of "Andromeda", "Busted And Blue", "Charger", "Saturnz Barz" and "Submission" were found on Vimeo (uploaded as private videos, but hacked quite quickly with the password "2017"). The full album was leaked on 20th April with the source being the accidentally sold vinyl from a Canadian record store.
  • Total running time (standard ver.): 49:37

Back to top

Home | News | Band Info | Discography | Gigography | Pictures | Lyrics & Tabs | Articles | Forum | Links

Updates | About | Search | Contact

Copyright 1998-2020 Veikko Hynninen